Baked Sweet Potatoes

Hi everybody!

DSC_1066 (1).jpg

Guess who’s back?! It’s me.. Because, you know, it’s my blog, so, makes sense… Today I’m here with a healthy recipe. Whaattt?! I know, I surprised myself too. Where’s the chocolate in this recipe? THERE’S ALWAYS CHOCOLATE. Well sorry, kids. No choccie today. Today is jacket sweet potatoes with spiced vegetables, chilli, spring onion and toasted sesame seeds… Pretty epic if you ask me. You’re probably still in shock as to why I’m cooking healthy food (*gasp*) for a change. Let me explain (briefly because I want to get onto the yummy stuff ASAP)!  Me and my friend, Izzy, are going vegan for Lent. A bold move but exciting too! A new way of cooking and a new way of eating. Now, I know this has been quite contro amongst some friends and family, so you know, let’s not have an attack on poor, old me.

DSC_1084

DSC_1059rI think it’s going quite well so far. I’m slowly getting used to it and am actually really enjoying it and not just because it’s given me an excuse to go shopping for new cookbooks! I do love a good cookbook shop. Excuse me while I have my nerdy moment. Contrary to popular belief I am not living off rabbit food. I refuse to! I am cooking myself really tasty food, every day, from my new cookbooks. My favourite people to look for, for inspiration, at the moment, are The Happy Pear. They have an incredible cookbook and also a YouTube channel and website… Definitely worth checking out! They’re a lot of fun, really friendly, incredibly passionate and easy on the eye too, so, you know, why not?! But on a serious note, I really do love and admire everything their business stands for: honest, natural, homemade, hearty, tasty food that’s good for the soul! They’re smiles and laughs are so contagious, it’s hard not to pick up their passion. I’ll definitely have a fair few of their recipes on the blog this year, so there’s that to look forward to!

DSC_1098

As for this recipe it’s completely made up. It’s a spontaneous mumsdentistappointmenthasrunoversoIhavetorusselsomethingupformeandmybrotherfor lunch! Often the best kind. Plus I got bonus sister points so who’s complaining?! My point is you can sub in/take out any ingredients you would prefer/prefer not to have (e.g. veggies, spices, toppings, sauces etc.) You can add meat/tofu to this too, if you please!

Here it is:

Makes 4 medium jacket sweet potatoes

Ingredients: 

4 medium-sized sweet potatoes

Drizzle of coconut oil or sunflower oil

Spiced veggies:

Half a red pepper

Half a red onion

120g  chickpeas, drained

1  courgette, julienned

1 large carrot, julienned

2 glugs (?!) tamari or soy sauce

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

Salt and pepper, to taste

‘Sprinkles’ (garnishes):

Drizzle of tahini

Drizzle of Harissa paste

Sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds (toast sesame seeds in a small, dry pan until aromatic and golden in colour)

Red chilli, finely chopped

Spring onion, finely chopped

Coriander, sprigs to garnish

Method: 

Preheat the oven to 200C and line a baking tray with foil

Place sweet potatoes onto baking tray, prick with a fork and drizzle with oil

Once oven is preheated, put in oven to bake for about 50 minutes or until sweet potato flesh is very soft (test by pricking with fork!)

Prepare veg and marinate in marinade until 10 minutes before potatoes are done baking

Prepare your ‘sprinkles!’

10 minutes before potatoes are done, stir fry veg in a hot, dry pan for about 4 minutes until veg is tender but still crunchy and completely warmed through

Take potatoes out the oven, split/open up down the middle and top with your veg and ‘sprinkles’

Enjoy! Sweet, buttery flesh, crispy skin, crunchy veg, spicy, sweet, savoury flavours and nutty sesame on top! What more could you want in a Wednesday lunch?

DSC_1081

DSC_1058

HAPPY COOKING ❤

 

Leave a Reply

