Valentine’s Raspberry and Shortbread Rocky Road

Hi everybody,

DSC_1028

I hope you haven’t missed me too much while I’ve been away in the hell that is A Level mocks and English coursework, but I’m back home for a week-long half term now… Hooray! Personally, I think it’s a bit stingy, but I guess I should be grateful for what I’m given and blah blah blah..

IMG_8965

Anyway, so here I am, snug in my bed, the night before Valentine’s. I’ve just finished colouring in another page of cupcakes in my (wait for it) Great British Bake Off colouring book. I know, look at me… colouring outside the lines… Eh? Eh? Get it.. (I’m sorry I had to. It was too easy.) Now, side note: I’m in that awful situation where my laptop is about to run out of charge and my charger is downstairs but I’m all cosy, tucked up in bed and the idea of getting out of my duvet den and walking downstairs, (and then, even worse, up again), to go and get my charger seems totally impossible right now so we’re going to have to make this short and sweet! (Haha, sweet. Get it? Because it’s rocky road. Which is sweet. Ahh I’m on a roll.. Haha. I’ll stop.) Although let’s be honest, my posts are never short. Sorry, but I do love a good ramble!

DSC_1007

So Valentine’s Day. I feel like you either love it, hate it or forget about it. To be honest, even though I’m missing a fairly crucial ingredient (a boyfriend), I do love Valentine’s Day, being the smooshy, hopeless romantic that I am. The romantic movies, the chocolate, the pretty flowers, the chocolate, the fluffy teddy bears, the chocolate, the cute cards, the chocolate.. Oh and did I mention the chocolate? Plus, I get to have a big ole stack of pancakes with two of my best friends tomorrow morning (winning) and I’m planning on buying a new cook book to geek out over and, most importantly, it’s my granddad’s birthday, so, you know, BEST DAY EVER!

IMG_8966

But. If you’re not feeling those feelings of lurveeee or you want to enhance those feelings of lurveeee or you just lurveeee chocolate (or you know, you’re just hungry, no need to go for the whole cringey lurveeee thing) then boy oh boy do I have the treat for you! Rocky road. Simple, yet effective. Quick, yet impressive. Creamy yet, crunchy. Sweet and indulgent yet fresh and youcaneataplateful-able (?).. Utter beauties! Perfect for any occasion..

This is kind of a combo of recipes and ideas with my favourite ingredients stuck into it, but by all means switch up the bits and bobs that go inside to make it personal!

Valentine’s Raspberry and Shortbread Rocky Road: 
Ingredients:
200g milk chocolate
200g dark chocolate
2 dessert spoons golden syrup
75g butter
200g roughly chopped shortbread
1 sharing bag Maltesers 
two handfuls of mini marshmallows
to decorate:
200g white chocolate
fresh raspberries
Method:
Melt milk and dark chocolate, butter and golden syrup in a bowl over a pan of simmering water
Line a baking pan with greaseproof paper
Add roughly chopped shortbread, Maltesers and marshmallows to cooled chocolate mixture
Press mixture into lined tin and leave in fridge to set for 2 hours at least
Drizzle set rocky road with melted white chocolate, decorate with raspberries and drizzle with more white chocolate
Leave to set, then slice and enjoy!
IMG_8967
I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as me, my friends and family did! Whether you give these to someone as a gift, make them and eat them  with loved ones or scoff the lot yourself, they’re a true delight!
I hope your Valentine’s Day (and every other day, for that matter) is filled with love. Love for your special someone, love for your family, love for your family and love for yourself…
DSC_1032
IMG_8969
HAPPY BAKING! ❤
2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Raspberry and Shortbread Rocky Road

Leave a Reply

