Halloween Chocolate Cake

Hi everybody!

FullSizeRender

I know I’m a bit late with this one (nearly a month..) but I didn’t want to waste these gorgeous photos of this gorgeous chocolate cake. I am aware that I have overused “gorgeous,” but I feel that if chocolate cake is the topic of discussion, using gorgeous several times is perfectly acceptable.

I have to be honest with you. We don’t really celebrate Halloween at home. As a person who is terrified of the idea of ghosts and spooky stuff (let’s not go into it too much) it is not my favourite night of the year – apart from indulging in the little mesh bags of cheap pumpkin-shaped chocolates you get from Tesco’s, that bit’s alright I guess. I call this cake a Halloween cake but it’s not really, is it?  I should perhaps have called it a “IwashungryforachocolatecakesoImadeoneandthenrealisedithappenedtobeHalloweensodecidedtocallitaHalloweencake Cake.” I go for the simple names..

To avoid any(more) unnecessary chatter, I’ll just crack on with the recipe, which is from Donal Skehan. Here is the recipe. It doesn’t quite look like his, but you know, it’s an interpretation.. In other words, don’t have a go at me, it looks a bit shabby but don’t be put off.. It’s the best chocolate cake I’ve ever baked! And trust me I have baked a good few chocolate cakes in my time. It’s light but moist and it’s rich and indulgent and is just one of those cakes you just want to faceplant into. See Figure 1.

Figure 1:

I didn’t take any photos of the baking process because I think there is only so many times you can look at photos of me mixing the same old ingredients together. Or… I couldn’t be bothered to take photos of the baking process because I wanted to bake the cake as fast as possible so that I could shove it in my gob ASAP…! To be honest, it was more the latter rather than the former…

did, however, take some marvellous photos of the end product. I took some “spooky” halloween ones, which I hope you enjoy because it was v. stressful… Me going in for a close up shot of the cake and blowing out a candle by mistake, my poor dad standing there for about 15 minutes with his arm up in the air holding up the torch and my brother and mum putting up with the appalling sight of me pretending I’m a professional photographer squatting and lunging all over the place! But what arose from this terrible scene is a series of rather lovely photographs. IMG_7337

IMG_7347

IMG_7336

But I didn’t want to leave you in the dark (quite literally!) so the following day I took some photos in broad daylight, to expose you to the cake’s yumminessnessness!

IMG_7355

IMG_7357

IMG_7358

IMG_7370

IMG_7378IMG_7372IMG_7371

Deffo gives this one a go. It’s a good’un!

HAPPY BAKING! ❤

P.S. Austrian and US Food Haul Coming Soon.. (the photos are rather spiffing so do stick around!)

Leave a Reply

