Simple Courgette, Tuna, Tomato, Olive and Chilli Pasta

Hi everbody! (sorry about the loooooooongg title, I couldn’t think of a fun name so just listed all the main ingredients…I hope you don’t mind!)

IMG_5415

Just a quick healthy interlude before we get onto the sweet, sticky desserts of Turkey (next blog post!). I missed doing recipe blog posts and I made this pasta today, literally an hour ago, and it was so delicious yet so easy that I thought you’d appreciate me sharing it.

Now, as the beginning of term starts to rear its ugly head I’m suffering from the ‘back to school blues,’ that I’m sure a fair few of you are familiar with. So at the moment, I’m in full-on comfort food and cuddles mode.

Today, a bowl of pasta was what I needed but I didn’t want to go for the classic spag bol or pesto/tomato sauce with parmesan cheese on top because I felt like spending some time in the kitchen and having a good bit of cooking therapy. I looked at what I had in the kitchen to cook with and I managed to come up with this yummy dish!

So here is how you make my courgette, tuna and chilli pasta, topped with cherry tomatoes and black olives. (Side note: sorry there aren’t any photos of the cooking process. This wasn’t originally going to be a blog post but it was so tasty and looked so beautiful in the end that I wanted to share it with you)

IMG_5414

You will need:

90g of uncooked spaghetti/pasta of your choice (I use wholewheat pasta)

1 chicken stock cube

2 tbsp coconut oil/olive oil

1 small courgette, finely chopped

1 small tin of tuna

Dried chilli flakes to taste

Salt and pepper to season

1 handful of halved cherry tomatoes

A few black olives

Method:

Step 1: Boil some water, melt a stock cube in it and cook your pasta

Step 2: While your pasta is cooking, put your oil in a frying pan and add your finely chopped courgettes once it’s hot. If they are colouring too quickly and aren’t softening then turn the heat down for a bit and put a lid on the pan so that the steam cooks and softens them. Once cooked turn off the heat but leave them in the pan until the pasta is cooked.

Step 3: Drain your pasta, keeping a little bit of the cooking liquid in the pasta (so your pasta isn’t dry) and put it back into the saucepan

Step 4: Add the courgettes, flaked tuna (or chargrilled chicken if you prefer), black olives, salt and chilli flakes

Step 5: Into the still warm frying pan, put the cherry tomatoes in, cut side down, just for a minute so that they soften a tiny bit. Add them to the pasta too!

Step 6: Stir it all up and enjoy!

IMG_5418

IMG_5419

Leave a Reply

