New York Food Diary Part 1: 25th-26th March 2015

Hi everybody!

IMG_4533 IMG_4904 IMG_4723IMG_4640 IMG_4497 IMG_4465

Sorry I haven’t written in a while. I’ve been busy with “revision” and all that.

Recently I went to New York with my History of Art class and while we were out there we ate some INCREDIBUBBLE food so I thought I would make you all very hungry by doing a couple of blog posts on everything I ate there (I ate a lot, but let’s not talk about that..), sharing some spiffing photos with you. How lovely!

So we shall begin with our first food stop… THE TICK TOCK DINER. (the airport doesn’t count, although the Pret sandwich I ate was simply delightful! I also managed to sleep through the lunch time meal on the plane so there won’t be any photos of that either, sorry!)

Just opposite Madison Square Garden, the Tick Tock Diner is a charming little diner which serves comfort food in the largest of portions! For me? Just perf. It had the red and white candy striped tables and the brightly coloured sofa booths, just like in the movies!

IMG_4325

IMG_4326    IMG_4323

So to start with we all had a simple salad with a dressing, which, I won’t lie, was a little heavy on the vinegar, but my excitement of being in a real-life New York Diner numbed the slight burning sensation in my mouth, so all was ok!

IMG_4306

Now for the main course, which was simply flawless! A classic “Chicken Parm.” A crispy, breadcrumb-coated, probably-fried-in-a-whole-ton-of-oil piece of succulent chicken on a mountain of penne pasta smothered in a rich tomato sauce.

IMG_4317

I mean come on.. Look at that cheese oozing all over the place!

IMG_4316

…and for dessert a yummy, vanillary, cinnamony rice pudding! I felt like I was right back home in sunny old England, except in the US they like to have their rice pudding cold. At first I was a bit hesitant but when I took the first spoonful there was no going back and soon enough the bowl was empty and my tummy was happy.

IMG_4321

Next up is BAGEL BOSS. Waking up jet lagged every morning was difficult but as soon as we walked into Bagel Boss, there was no time to think about tiredness as we had to make a very important decision. Pancakes, bagels, french toast or pastries. As you can see I went for these fluffy, chocolate chip-pancakes. The fluffiest of all fluffy chocolate-chip pancakes. The fluffiest of the fluffiest. 3 huge pancakes with lashings of maple syrup and butter. *insert love heart eyes emoji*

IMG_4450 IMG_4452

Before we could utter the words word “I’m so full” a plate full of cookies and pastries came our way and of course I had to eat some because, you know, I didn’t want to be rude or anything. This mini, chocolate, cinnamon roll was my personal favourite! Look at those dreamy swirls…

IMG_4457 IMG_4459

For lunch, my group decided to go to a little cafe called Le Pain Quotidien. This is a chain cafe which is right up my street! Little blackboard menus everywhere, wooden tables and delicious homemade, rustic food. Their bakery section is like a dream. Cakes, pastries and bread piled up high, overflowing their baskets!

IMG_4554

But.. I was a bit of a silly billy and forgot to take a picture of her main meal (hummus on sourdough topped with walnuts, cumin and sumac).. apologies! But I do have a picture of our desserts. My friends had carrot cake and apricot and almond tart but I went for a mini chocolate brownie as they had caught my eye as soon as I walked in. IMG_4560

A mouthful of gooey, fudgy, chocolatey, umptiousness. Umptious is my new word, discovered from the one and only John Torode on Masterchef. He seems to love this word. She is a lovely word! (Definitely a female)

IMG_4562

For dinner we went to the famous Hard Rock Cafe. It was so cool. Guitars everywhere and it wasn’t a bad experience sitting down at my table, looking to my left and seeing Freddie Mercury’s shirt and looking to my right and seeing Madonna’s catsuit. And then the food came and everything just got that little (lot) bit better, which I didn’t think was possible. I had the tastiest veggie burger ever for mains and cookies and ice cream sundae for dessert. Burgers, cookies, ice-cream sundae AND Freddie Mercury’s t-shirt? Am I a lucky girl or what?!

IMG_4642IMG_4647

IMG_4650    IMG_4652

IMG_4660          IMG_4653

So, those were my first two days of my food journey in New York but there are still two more days to come so keep an eye out for that! I will also be doing a blogpost on a Strawberry Milkshake Cake very soon so dont miss that either! IT’S AMAZING if I may say so myself! Please please pleaseeee follow my blog (if you want to – no pressure) PLEASE! You dont need a WordPress account just an email address 🙂 And share with your friends if you’re feeling super friendly 🙂

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

