‘S’ Biscuits from Burano

IMG_3061

Hi everybody.. me again!

This week, I’m blogging about these little beauties! Chocolate dipped ‘S’ Biscuits or as the Italians say Bussola Buranello.. Try pronouncing that! If you get it right, I imagine it sounds very sexy with lots of rrrolling ‘r’s, but the way I’m saying it at the moment, it sounds a bit like a disease… I tried. So.. these are very simple biscuits which are from Italy. A little bit of history for you, Burano is an island in Venice, famous for it’s brightly coloured houses and hand-crafted lace. At the time, when these biscuits were first introduced, men used to go off on long fishing or sailing trips and so their lovely ladies would bake these biscuits which lasted a long time and were perfect for an afternoon snack! They are traditionally made in an ‘S’ shape or sometimes a circle. Apparently some people even keep them in their knicker drawers because they smell so good and they want their pants to smell like sweet biscuits! (As I write this, I pause to think whether I should do this with my biscuits, probably not.. People might think I’m a bit weird if I put biscuits in my knicker drawer.. But don’t know)

So yeah, I guess that says it all really, good enough to put in your knicker drawer.. That sounds pretty good to me!

These biccies are very easy to make and quite fun! Traditionally they are made plain and are dipped in a sweet dessert wine but because I’m a chocaholic the only thing that made sense in my brain was to dip them in rich, dark chocolate… Mmmm. I’m sure these biscuits dipped in absolutely anything would still be amazing because they’re that good!

This recipe is from my new cookbook that I bought “Venice: Recipes Lost and Found.” Whether this recipe was lost or found I don’t know, but what I do know is that these biscuits are darn tasty and that you should make ’em! This book is written by the Caldesi family who are pretty much the gurus of Italian food. I love their books because they don’t just show you how to make the stereotypical margherita pizza and spag bol but show you how to make the hidden little undiscovered gems which can be found in Italy, in this case Venice. Some very special recipes in this book guys and your missing out if you don’t grab one! I have tried out a few of these recipes myself and they are just fab. Now, I’m going to be very kind and give you this recipe but it’s up to you to go and buy the book for all the other incredible recipes! It’s well worth it.. not only are the recipes delish but it’s a book which looks rather good-looking on your shelf of recipe books…It’s got shiny, gold writing on the front and everything!

So first, shove (or place elegantly) all your ingredients into a food processor! (or do it by hand, but I’m lazy so I use a food processor!) Once you have your dough, roll into a sausage, chop into 16 mini sausages, shape and bake until pale golden brown and crisp! (details in recipe below)

IMG_3018IMG_3022 IMG_3027

Now, open up that oven and smell the waft of lemon and vanilla and yummynessnessness.. Let them cool on a wire rack and have a little taste! Well, in my house, we call having a little taste, carrying out “quality control”.. it’s for functional purposes.. to check that they’re not poisoned. Health and safety..You know what they’re like…

 DSC_0195DSC_0202 IMG_3084

(This next part is optional but it makes it super yummy if you dip them in chocolate, just sayin’) Now melt your chocolate…An occasional finger dip is fine but try to save some for the biccies too!

DSC_0213

Now dip..dunk..and most of all.. ENJOY!!

IMG_3054 IMG_3047 IMG_3049 IMG_3101 IMG_3094 IMG_3064 IMG_3067 IMG_3072

Recipe by Giancarlo Caldesi: 

Ingredients:

200g plain flour

125g caster sugar

75g butter or lard

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Finely grated zest of 1/2 lemon

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180C (350F/Gas 4.) Mix all the ingredients together in a food processor or by hand. Take a piece of the dough and roll into a long sausage shape 2cm wide (3/4in) and cut into 10cm (4in) lengths. Shape the sausage into an “S” shape or circle and place on a baking tray lined with baking parchment. Repeat this for all the dough. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until they are crisp and golden. Remove and cool on a wire rack. (Once cooled dip in melted dark chocolate and leave to set or eat straight away!)

HAPPY BAKING! ❤

Leave a Reply

