“Burekas”

IMG_9206 Hi everybody! It’s been a while… a long while actually. I’m sosososo sorry, I have no excuse apart from the fact that I am doing these tiny little exams called my A Levels! Anyway… Here I am. Missed me? Ahh, I thought so! So guess what guys? This recipe isn’t a cake. Whattttt? Yes. Sureyya can do stuff that isn’t baking cakes, I know, who knew?! These are called Bourekas and are from the Ottelenghi book called Jerusalem.. I think. They are basically crispy, flakey little pockets of cheesy yumminess covered in a few posh seeds which add to the sophistication because thats what I am, sophisticated. Now… Before you all have a little freak out and say “Arghh! Sureyya, thats pastry, puff pastry. I watched that in Bake Off and it took them hours!” Stop. It’s ok because this is where our little friend Jus-Rol comes in. He’s a little guy in a tube who is sold in supermarkets, he’s always there for us, sitting in the fridge, ready to help us out in times of need. I’m sorry if you are all bitterly disappointed in me for using shop bought pastry but I have no shame. I have watched interviews with chefs who say they all use shop-bought when they can, they only use homemade for their profession. So there. I am basically just doing what the chefs do. And plus – puff pastry – ain’t nobody got time for that! Rolling and folding and refrigerating and rolling and folding and refrigerating and rolling and – you get the point! Don’t hate me! I make my own sometimes I promise! But for this, it’s a treat which quick and easy to make. Just follow the pictures below to make them and just chuck them in the oven! Job done. Tummy satisfied. Here is the list of what you will need: 500g all-butter puff pastry 1 medium free-range egg, beaten Ricotta filling: 60g cottage cheese 60g ricotta 90 feta, crumbled 10g melted unsalted butter Pecorino filling: 50g ricotta 70g mature pecorino, grated 50g mature Cheddar, grated 1 leek, cut into 5cm segments, blanched until tender and finely chopped (80g in total) 1 tbsp chopped flat-leaf parsley ½ tsp black pepper Seeds: 1 tsp nigella seeds 1 tsp sesame seeds 1 tsp yellow mustard seeds 1 tsp caraway seeds ½ tsp chilli flakes Unfortunately to get the method you have to buy the book! But. Because I am such a nice human being I have done a simplified version of the method below! You’re welcome. Chop it in two, pop half in the fridge and roll (about 5mm thick) the other half on a floured surface. (Once you have finished preparing the first lot of Bourekas and they are on your baking sheet, pop these into the fridge and repeat all these steps with your other half! This ensures that the butter in the pastry doesn’t melt and ruin those beautiful layers!) IMG_9136 Chop into six squares, this does not need to be perfect!   IMG_9137 Put a table spoon (about 20g) of yummy cheesy stuff (technical term for cheese filling) in the middle of each square. IMG_9138 Give two meeting corners a bit of an eggy brush. IMG_9132 Fold and seal! (try doing this with one hand, trying to take a good picture with your other hand! Oh wait! Thats me!) Seal well to ensure they don’t open up as they are cooking! IMG_9141IMG_9142IMG_9145 More eggy brushing and then dunking! (Avoid getting any eggy wash on the sides of the bourekas – it might not rise as well because you’re blocking the layers!) IMG_9187IMG_9189 Now place on your lined baking sheets and MORE eggy brushing! (Try to avoid brushing the seeds, it will have a neater finish which is what us perfectionists like to see!) IMG_9191IMG_9193 Pop in an oven preheated to 220degreesC/200degreesC Fan/ Gas Mark 7 and take out after 15-17 minutes, or until risen and golden brown on top! Make sure you space them out because, as you can see, they turn into monsters when they go into the oven… Yummy, buttery monsters though, not icky monsters! We don’t want to be eating any of those. IMG_9195 IMG_9197 Now as you can see, similar to the “ihavelemoncurdsquidgingoutofmycakesituation” in my previous post (if you haven’t read my previous post, shame on you!) we have a bit of a “yummycheesystuffisspewingoutofmybourekassituation.” Panic not! First of all, it is not “messy” it is “rustic.” Second of all, can we fix it? YES. WE. CAN! Just get a teaspoon and, what I like to call, “feed” the cheese to the pastry. Look… simples!  IMG_9199IMG_9198 So there it is..! A simple yet very yummy recipe. You also sound very cultured and oriental when you present “Burekas” to the table… Bit of a bonus eh?! See you soon ! HAPPY BAKING! ❤

Leave a Reply

