coconut cake pops

Image

With summer coming up, I’ve been attempting to slim down a bit. Emphasis on the word attempting. So recently, I have been browsing the internet for some healthier alternatives for cakes, biscuits etc. so that when I get those frequent (a little too frequent) urges for something sweet I can bake these healthier recipes and kid myself into thinking that this means that it’s ok to eat the whole cake… because “it’s healthy.” Duh.

I actually have a very special and unique power. I have the power to make even the healthiest things unhealthy. I will go out and I will buy three boxes of healthy, organic cereal bars and say to myself “I will have one of these a day and this will satisfy my sugar cravings. There will be no more binging.” I’m wrong. I reach into my tuck box and peel back the wrapper. I promise myself that I will savour every bite of this cereal bar because this is the only one I’m having today. I take my first few bites and before I know it, my first few bites turn into my last few bites and the cereal bar is gone. What happened? Where did it go?

Now it’s begun. I crumple up the wrapper and toss it into the bin and reach into my tuck box for “just one more” and soon enough “just one more” turns into “just ten more” and within the space of about 10 minutes I end up in a pool of wrappers, feeling a little bit sick but still thinking about what I’m going to eat next. I then hide these wrappers somewhere because I am ashamed to put them in the bin. I just couldn’t face the judgemental looks I would get from the other girls as they throw away their wrapper from the piece of cardboard, which they call an “organic biscuit.”

Please tell me I’m not the only one…

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 22.50.11    Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 22.50.26 Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 22.50.41    Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 22.50.33

Anyway, back to the cakes. I didn’t want to end up baking those horrible, tasteless cakes. I mean they’re healthy but I’d rather chew on a piece of paper than eat one of them, it would probably be more tasty! I wanted something which I could enjoy baking and eating. (And I needed an excuse to use my new cake pop moulds!) I found these healthy treats when I was catching up on my YouTube videos. Marcus Butler who I’m sure you’ll have heard of, (if not, he’s a very funny, and handsome, YouTuber and you should check out his channel) has a girlfriend who has recently started making videos too. I was scrolling through my subscriptions page when I saw that Niomi had uploaded a video entitled “Healthy Cake Pops”… Perfect!

So, I whizzed down to Tesco’s with my mum and bought some of the ingredients, however most of the ingredients you won’t find in a normal supermarket but you will need to go to a Whole Food’s store as some of the stuff is quite unusual. Well, unusual for someone like me, who doesn’t get involved with anything which includes the word “healthy.”

It’s a very simple recipe to make. Just follow along with the video or blog post! The only thing I would say is that if you watch the video you will see her cake pops didnt rise very much. Because of this I added a teaspoon of baking powder instead of just 1/2 a teaspoon and I ended up with perfectly round, bouncy cushions of coconut cake! The sponge was moist and the intense coconut flavour was delicious! Well, unless you don’t like coconut. (by the way you’re mad!) They’re so versatile when it comes to decoration and you really can make them your own! You can coat them in chocolate or candy melts or anything else that you can think of. (Let me know in the comments, I would love to hear your suggestions!)  Apart from adding slightly more baking powder and using hazelnut milk instead of almond milk, I completely stuck to the recipe and the result was AMAZING! I really recommend following her blog, she writes about health, beauty, lifestyle and everything fashion!

IMG_6858     IMG_6873

IMG_6865     IMG_6860

I will definitely be making these again. In fact, I have already planned when I will be making them next! A week after my last GCSE exam I will be hopping on the train, with my best friend, to go to Paris to see the one and only ONE DIRECTION! Jealous? I thought so… So, the two days before we leave, we have decided that we are going to do a massive baking marathon and bake all our favourite cakes and biscuits so that we can munch these on the way to Paris. These spongey balls of yumminess immediately came to mind and I knew that Aisling would love them just as much as I did!

I hope you enjoyed this blog post! Let me know in the comments if you did and share it with all your friends!

Image     ImageImage      ImageImage     ImageImage

HAPPY BAKING!!!

One thought on “coconut cake pops

Leave a Reply

